← THE WEBER COUNTY HIVE · DATA CENTERS
Data Centers · Case File · Oct. 3, 2026

The National Math Behind Utah's Data Center Bets — and Who Works There

A global consulting firm says the AI building boom is running ahead of the money needed to pay for it. Utah's proposed campuses are among the largest in the country. Here is what the public record shows about their size, the risk, and the people who will work inside them.

The Weber County Hive — We report public records. You decide.

$4.2 trillion
yearly AI revenue Bain says must come from markets that don't exist yet
~29 GW
proposed and under-construction data center campuses in Utah, at full planned size
2,000–3,250
permanent data center jobs the state forecasts for all of Utah by 2030
0
Utah records found that report how many of those workers are local

Words to know

Tap or click a card to flip it.

The national math

On Sept. 29, 2026, Bain & Company published a report on what it will take to pay for the artificial intelligence building boom. In plain terms:

flowchart LR A["Revenue Bain says is needed
$6 trillion a year"] --> B["From products that exist today
$1.2 – 1.8 trillion"] A --> C["From markets not built yet
about $4.2 trillion"] C --> D["AI search ads
Self-driving vehicles
Robots and factories
New products"]

Read this as a forecast

Bain is a consulting firm that sells AI services. Its numbers are estimates built on its own assumptions, including that spending equals about 25% of industry revenue. Bain's own conclusion is that the buildings are going up ahead of demand, and whether new uses arrive in time to pay for them is an open question.

Where Utah sits on that curve

Bain describes 9 gigawatts as the size of the very largest campuses expected by the end of the decade. Utah already has proposals at that scale.

Pins are approximate, placed at the town or valley named in public records. Click a pin for details.

ProjectLocationSize listedStatus
Creekstone Delta GigasiteDelta, Millard Countymore than 10 GWUnder construction
Stratos ProjectHansel Valley, Box Elder County7.5 GW (9 GW at full build-out per the Sierra Club)Proposed
Joule campusHolden, Millard County4 GWUnder construction
Tract Pole CanyonEagle Mountain1.7 GWProposed
Antelope Data Campus / Red ButteIron County1.5 GW eachProposed

Source: Salt Lake Tribune data center map, Sept. 25, 2026.

The Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED), presenting to the Legislature's Economic Development and Workforce Services Interim Committee on Aug. 19, 2026, reported that Utah has 48 operating data centers with more than 1 gigawatt of capacity, and that projects under construction will add 2.6 gigawatts. The Tribune's table, which lists each campus at its full planned size, adds up to roughly 29 gigawatts. Those figures measure different things (current construction phases versus full build-out), but both point the same direction.

Who carries the risk if demand doesn't arrive

Bain is writing for investors. In Utah, some of the tools used to build these projects are public ones.

None of this shows anyone did anything wrong. It shows where public money and public tools sit if a national forecast turns out to be too optimistic.

Who works there?

Stratos shows the lowest construction figure given (4,000). Another spokesperson figure was 10,000. Stratos's 2,000 permanent jobs is a claim; no tenant has been announced.

Pick a project

ProjectConstruction workersPermanent jobs afterWho said it
Meta, Eagle Mountain1,200+ at peak200 "supported"; a few dozen employees to run it (2021). Stated as 300+ for the expanded campus (2026)Meta, via Deseret News
QTS, Eagle Mountain ($6 billion)2,000+about 100, counting employees, tenants and contractorsQTS
Stratos, Box Elder County4,000 to 10,0002,000 claimed; no tenant announcedProject spokespeople
Creekstone, Delta"thousands"106GOED presentation, Aug. 19, 2026
Joule, Holdennot disclosednot disclosed—
All of Utah—2,000 to 3,250 by 2030GOED presentation, Aug. 19, 2026

Are the workers local?

The short answer

No Utah record reviewed for this case file reports how many data center workers are local, or even Utah residents.
flowchart TD A["S.B. 114 sales tax exemption"] --> A1["Requires no jobs at all"] B["EDTIF / REDTIF credits"] --> B1["Require jobs at set pay levels"] C["Stratos interlocal agreement
(draft)"] --> C1["Yearly employee count to county
may be marked confidential"] A1 --> Q["Where workers live:
not reported anywhere"] B1 --> Q C1 --> Q

When jobs are the condition

flowchart LR A["Company promises jobs"] --> B["State pays credits
after jobs exist"] B --> C["Tyson: 723 jobs,
up to $5.26 million"] C --> D["Plant closes Oct. 12, 2026
5 years into a 10-year deal"] D --> E["Credits stop.
Recovery of past credits:
not established"]

Utah does have an incentive tied to jobs. Tyson Foods received a state tax-credit agreement worth up to $5.26 million for its Eagle Mountain plant. The plant is closing five years into a ten-year agreement, with 723 jobs lost. Credits stop when the jobs stop. Whether any credits already paid can be recovered has not been established in the records reviewed.

The other side

What the record shows

Bain's report says the national buildout is running ahead of proven demand. Utah's proposed campuses are sized at the top of that curve. The state's own forecast is a few thousand permanent jobs statewide. And no Utah record reviewed shows how many of those jobs, or the thousands of construction jobs before them, go to Utahns.

People in this record

Sen. Kirk CullimorePrimary sponsor of S.B. 114 (2020), the data center sales tax exemption with no jobs requirement. S.B. 114 → · H.B. 507 →
Rep. Mike SchultzHouse sponsor of S.B. 114. Holds land near the Stratos site. S.B. 114 → · Stratos land →
Kevin O'LearyInvestor behind Stratos; public source of the 10,000 construction / 2,000 permanent jobs figures. Stratos →
Paul PalandjianO'Leary Ventures CEO; described about 4,000 construction workers over 10 to 15 years.
Tina CannonUtah State Auditor; said in July 2026 the state cannot calculate what the S.B. 114 exemption costs. S.B. 114 →
Bill WrightMillard County Commissioner; prefers data centers to employers that bring large population growth.
Jared Gray & Tom WestmorelandCurrent and former Eagle Mountain mayors; on record about data center tax revenue. Meta →

Questions to ask, and whom to ask

Box Elder County Commission
Will Stratos's yearly employee reports be public, or marked confidential?
Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED)
GOED's 2,000-to-3,250 jobs forecast cites the Gardner Policy Institute. Does it count Utah residents, or everyone working on site?
Millard County Commission
How many workers on the Creekstone and Joule sites live in Millard County?
Eagle Mountain City Council
How many of Meta's and QTS's permanent staff live in Eagle Mountain?
Your state legislators
Should Utah's data center tax exemption carry a jobs or local-hire requirement?
Sources and how they were read